Swiss-Balkan Creative Music

Swiss-Balkan Creative Music


The Swiss-Balkan Creative Music Project aims to develop new links between Swiss and Balkan musicians in the field of contemporary improvised music. The working sessions will give the musicians the possibility to explore together new and fresh practices in electro-acoustic improvised music. The music is made of sonic architectures, colours and textures and moves between pure sound and abstract noise complexity.

The project is realised in 3 phases: April 2007, November 2007 and Spring 2008. For the first and second phases, the Ensemble Rue du Nord is travelling and meeting different local musicians.

The third phase will permit to have several concerts in different cities and mix the balkan musicians in the spirit of the « Company Weeks » by Derek Bailey.


Jonas Kocher in collaboration with:

Sabina Sabic, Sarajevo.

Bojan Djordjevic & Vladimir Djordjevic, Belgrade

Red House, Sofia

Toni Kitanovski & Antonio Dimitrov, Skopje

Ilir Bajri,Pristhina

Project realised with the support of Pro Helvetia, Ernst Göhner Stiftung, Canton of Berne, Swiss Cultural Programme South-East Europe and Ukraine-Pro Helvetia/SDC

PHASE #1 – BALKAN TOUR April 2007

Ensemble Rue du Nord : Benoît Moreau, clarinet, piano / Jonas Kocher, accordion / John Menoud, e.guit, electronics

12th/13th Belgrade, Serbia : Cultural Center REX

w/Szilard Mezei, Ervin Malina, Djordje Mijuskovic, Branislav Radojkovic, Robert Rozsa, Srdjan Muc, Jamal Al Kiswani, Ivan Antic, Relja Bobic, Svetlana Maras

PHASE #2 – BALKAN TOUR November 2007

Ensemble Rue du Nord: Laurent Bruttin, clarinets / Anne Gillot, recorders / Jonas Kocher, accordion / Dragos Tara, doublebass, laptop

9th Belgrade, REX

w/Robert Rosza, Luka Ivanovic, Srdjan Muc, Marijan Srdic, Stefan Kovacevic, Nebojsa Vukelic, a.o.

PHASE #3 – BALKANS TOUR March-April 2008

26th SARAJEVO Collegium Artisticum


30th SOFIA Red House

1st SKOPJE Tochka



Kaltrina Shala, flute

Vedran Tuce, bassclarinet

Dugagjin Muhaxheri, clarinet

Rosen Zahariev, trompet/percussion

Biliana Voutchkova, violin

Visar Kuqi, violin

Miran Zrimsek, cello

Vladimir Blagojevic, accordion

Svetlana Marash, piano

Liburn Jupolli, piano

Lukatoyboy, electronics/toys

Robert Rosza, electronics

Srdjan Muc, guitar/electronics

Every kid on speed, laptop


Ensemble Rue du Nord:

Laurent Bruttin, clarinet & bass clarinet

Anne Gillot, recorders

Jonas Kocher, accordion

John Menoud, e-guit., electronics

Dragos Tara, doublebass, electronics

Benoît Moreau, piano, clarinet

This site is registered on as a development site.